Monday 11 April 2016

Review & Promo ~ Hush (Black Lotus #3) by EK Blair

Hush is the final instalment of EK Blair's Black Lotus series and it releases tomorrow.

This has been an intense series and is one finale I will never forget. EK Blair will definitely leave you with some lasting memories!!

Book Description:

I've come to learn there is no escaping your past.

It doesn't matter what you do, it will follow like a phantom--haunting you--reminding you. 

Reading Order 

BANG (book 1)
ECHO (book 2)
HUSH (book 3)

**Due to the dark and explicit nature of this book, it is recommended for mature audiences only as some scenes may be particularly disturbing.**

Pre-Order Links:
Releases tomorrow 12th April

Amazon US:

Other Books in Series:

Bang (Book One)

Barnes & Noble:

Echo (Book Two)

Barnes & Noble:



Our Review:

Reviewed by Donna ~ 4.5 stars
***ARC received for an honest review***

“It’s love, darling…it takes everyone hostage.”

EK Blair has given me a lot of firsts in her career and Hush has just given me another one, however, what that first was will have to remain a secret else it would be a huge spoiler. But that is everything that encompasses this series, a lot of firsts. EK Blair is not afraid to push boundaries, push your boundaries and while Hush has a very different feel to it than Bang and Echo, EK Blair’s blood and trademarks run through every page and truly bring this book to life and unfortunately this series to an end. The Black Lotus series is one of my all-time favourites, these characters have embedded themselves into my heart and soul and to say goodbye to them was extremely hard. This has been a far cry from a traditional romance but none the less, the ultimate end goal was always Elizabeth’s happiness and the question on everyone’s tongue is…does she get it?

“He’s the creation of my monstrosity, forever changed as a result of my demented soul. He fell in love with the devil when he fell in love with me.”

Hush was definitely the rebirth of Elizabeth Rose Archer, this book centres around Elizabeth finding herself and trying to forget Nina once and for all. With everything she has been through though this was never going to be an easy task. All Elizabeth’s vulnerabilities and insecurities are tackled and it was fantastic to see “the real” side to our tough Nina. She has never worn her heart on her sleeve and has never really let anyone in and to see her open up, raw, emotional and vulnerable made this story all the more realistic. It was gritty, it was believable and it only makes you understand and relate to Elizabeth all the more. 

“Tears paint my face in a piece of art that embodies a love so powerful it can only be ours. It’s ugly and beautiful and painful, but it’s ours. We are monsters and lovers, animals and killers, but nothing can extinguish what we have when we’re together.”

The end of Elizabeth’s story was always going to be hard, for a child that had been deprived of her childhood, had been let down by the authorities and abused physically and mentally by those that should have saved her, Elizabeth really does have a mountain climb. Trust is always going to be an issue and it is really this and her tenuous links to her past that really hold her back. But our Elizabeth proves what a fighter she is and really tries to pull herself back. She needs to find herself, find Elizabeth Rose Archer, she has been pretending for so long she has no idea who and what she truly is and the last time she was really herself she was five years old.

The other characters that are featured within Hush are also shown in a different light, the strong and fearless are shown weak and exposed, the dislikeable become likeable and EK Blair managed to turn a lot of my thoughts, feelings and preconceptions well and truly on their head. When there are three men in the mix initially you always pick a team, a side that you want to win and a man that you want to champion, the trouble with this series was you never really knew who was dead or alive at any one moment. EK Blair has been a wicked puppet master with my emotions throughout this series and while you get a little reprieve with Hush she still manages to get you, she lures you into a false sense of security and then pulls the trigger. Bang…she got me…hear the Echo…Hush it’s oh so quiet.

“As much as you need him, I need you more.”

This is one series I will never forget and as much as I would love to go on and on, I really can’t, I hate spoilers and this book needs to be read as the author intended. Feel it all, experience it all and live it all. EK Blair, I have to salute you for staying true to the story and the characters. This couldn’t have been an easy book or series to write and as hard as it was to read, every palpitation, every tear, ever OMG moment will be well and truly savoured. Not many authors can keep you on the edge of your seat for three books and you pulled it off in style in all its eloquent, intoxicating, gripping, addictive, stomach churning, soul crushing glory. For those that want to push themselves, this is one series I can highly recommend.

“I knew in that moment that I would never be unloved, I would never be abandoned, and I would never be left to fight the monsters alone.”

About the Author:

New York Times, USA Today, and International bestselling author, E.K. Blair, takes her readers on an emotional roller coaster with her books. A former first grade teacher with an imagination that runs wild. Daydreaming and zoning out is how she was often found in high school. Blair tends to drift towards everything dark and moody and has been noted as 'The Queen of Dark and Twisted'. Give her a character and she will take pleasure in breaking them down, digging into their core to find what lies underneath.

Aside from writing, E.K. Blair finds pleasure in music, drinking her Starbucks in peace, and spending time with her friends. She's a thinker, an artist, a wife, a mom, and everything in between.




No comments:

Post a Comment