Thursday 22 September 2016

Release Day Blitz & Review ~ The Silent Waters (Elements #3) by Brittainy C Cherry

Title: The Silent Waters
Series: Romance Elements #3
Author: Brittainy C. Cherry
Genre: Romance
Release Date: September 22, 2016

Book Description:


Our lives are a collection of moments. Some utterly painful and full of yesterday's hurts. Some beautifully hopeful and full of tomorrow's promises.

I’ve had many moments in my lifetime, moments that changed me, challenged me. Moments that scared me and engulfed me. However, the biggest ones—the most heartbreaking and breathtaking ones—all included him.

I was ten years old when I lost my voice. A piece of me was stolen away, and the only person who could truly hear my silence was Brooks Griffin. He was the light during my dark days, the promise of tomorrow, until tragedy found him. Tragedy that eventually drowned him in a sea of memories.

This is the story of a boy and girl who loved each other, but didn’t love themselves. A story of life and death. Of love and broken promises.

Of moments.

(Book Three in the Elements Series. Complete Standalone.)

Buy Links:

99c for release day only (price will change at 6pm CST)

Our Review:

Reviewed by Donna ~ 5 stars
***ARC received for an honest review***

“Not all broken things need to be fixed. Sometimes they just need to be loved.”

Two five star books on the bounce and two authors also receiving their first five-star review from me, it has been an amazing reading week.

Brittainy Cherry never fails to deliver with what I crave the most…emotion and with The Silent Waters she delivered one hell of an emotional read. A story that was gripping and captivating from the start, a story that was powerful and emotional, a story that makes you dig deep, a story that resonates, a story that you will never, ever forget. This was a story that definitely left its mark, an indelible print on my heart and my soul, because this book touched me, this book made me think about myself, this book made me think about the author and this book has had me tossing and turning all night thinking about the characters. This is me typing a review with tears streaming down my face as I relive the unbelievable story I read last night, so please excuse my ramblings. This is a story that you should read blind, expect the unexpected and for that reason I am keeping my review about my emotions and a little about the characters.

“It amazed me how a heart could shatter in a crowded room and the sound couldn’t be heard by a single person.”

When I read a Brittainy C Cherry book I know that I will probably cry, I know that she will deliver something unique, I know that she will deliver something powerful, I know that she will deliver a story with meaning and I know that she will deliver a message and this message was received loud and clear. Every single character in this book had his or her place, nobody was superfluous to the story developing around them and every character was magical in their own way. I may have wobbled with a couple of characters but alas, I should never have worried, they totally redeemed themselves.

Maggie Mae Riley was a beautiful character and when we are first introduced to her as a little girl she will have your heart melting from the very start. Maggie was the apple of her daddy’s eye, a single dad that always put his Maggie at the forefront of his thoughts and actions, so when he finally finds “the one” he can finally give Maggie something that she has always wanted…a loving family. Moving into his future wife’s home, Maggie is now the proud owner of a step-mother, step-brother and step-sister who welcome her into the family with open arms. They become a tight family unit and the “step” is soon dropped, Maggie was one of their own.

“The world keeps spinning because your heartbeat exists.”

Brooks Griffin was Maggie’s brothers best friend. At first, Maggie was a fly in his ointment, that annoying little bugger that kept following him around, dreaming of their wedding and making all the arrangements in her fairy tale bubble. Maggie sent him love notes on the regular and no matter how hard and mean he was back, she never got the hint, she carried on regardless, as far as Maggie Mae Riley was concerned she would marry Brooks Griffin, she loved him, even from such a young age and we all know that little boys “hate” those girls they secretly love.

“Love didn’t come with guidelines. It flowed into a person with only hope as its current. There wasn’t a list of rules to follow, making sure you cared for it correctly. It didn’t give you instructions to keep it pure. It simply showed up quietly, praying you wouldn’t let it slip away.”

The Silent Waters follows these two through life as little kids, as teenagers and as adults and because of this there are time jumps. All jumps are relevant and really piece together the lives that these two lead, both together and apart. Told in alternate POV’s this book delivers that character connection in spades as you are treated to the thoughts and feelings of both characters. Their growth from little kids, to friends to lovers and everything else in between was tangible. Their connection was solid, they were each other’s anchor, they were true soul mates. Their communication through their love of music and books was ingenious and really cemented the bond that these two had. Sometimes life was with them, sometimes life was against them, but even apart these two were tethered. You never forget your first love but you also never forget your soul mate. Brooks’ nickname for Maggie was Magnet because “there’s this magnetic pull of friendship between us…You’re my Magnet” and no matter what life threw at them, they always pulled back together.

“You can’t just read these books and think that means you’re living. It’s their story, not yours, and it’s heartbreaking to watch someone so young toss away their chance at writing their own story.”

The synopsis of this book sums it up perfectly, this is a collection of moments, some hurtful, some hopeful and some full of promise, heart breaking moments and breath taking moments. This is a story about a boy and a girl who loved each other, but didn’t love themselves. Despite the highs and lows this was their journey, their promise to each other and their fight to deliver on their promises. Brittainy C Cherry is one super talented lady. I felt this authors blood, sweat and tears in these words, I felt the truth behind the characters, but most of all I knew because I had been there. I lost my voice once albeit not through the same circumstances, speech Is a powerful weapon, it’s something we take for granted but should be cherished, but as the saying goes, sometimes actions speak louder than words.

“Everyone has scars. Some people are just better at hiding them.”

This is an incredible story; one I would urge everyone to read. Not only is this my favourite of this author but is also one of my favourites of the year, of all time even. Brittainy C Cherry, you nailed it, your authors note broke me but united we stand, don’t ever lose your voice again, the book world would be a sadder place for it.


#1 The Air He Breathes

Only 99c!!

#2 The Fire Between High & Lo

Only 99c

About the Author:

Brittainy Cherry has been in love with words since the day she took her first breath. She graduated from Carroll University with a Bachelors Degree in Theatre Arts and a minor in Creative Writing. She loves to take part in writing screenplays, acting, and dancing--poorly of course. Coffee, chai tea, and wine are three things that she thinks every person should partake in! Brittainy lives in Milwaukee, Wisconsin with her family. When she's not running a million errands and crafting stories, she's probably playing with her adorable pets.

No comments:

Post a Comment