Friday, 14 October 2016

Blog Tour, Review & Giveaway ~ The Eagle (Spy Girl #2) by Jillian Dodd

Revenge won’t change anything—or will it?

The Eagle by Jillian Dodd NOW AVAILABLE!!

Book Description:

From USA Today bestselling author Jillian Dodd comes the second book in a sizzling series filled with action and adventure. Fans of The Selection and The Hunger Games will discover a heart-pounding thrill ride of espionage and suspense set in glittering high society.

The world’s most deadly assassin, a man known only as The Priest, has come back from the dead to take a series of high profile hits. When the assassin completes his first task—shooting an important world leader, the global community goes into collective shock and his government vows retaliation.

With her cover firmly cemented as Huntley Von Allister, Spy Girl’s vacation on the Royal Yacht is cut short when she’s called home for her next mission—and, this time, it’s personal. 

Can Huntley accomplish her mission before the next hit takes place? 

And what will happen when she finally comes face-to-face with the man who killed her mother?

Buy Links:

Our Review:

Reviewed by Donna ~ 4 stars
***ARC received for an honest review***

“That is where you are wrong, my dear. You merely won a battle, not the entire war.”

This is such a hard review to write because everything is a spoiler, but the missions of Huntley Von Allister continue with a vengeance in The Eagle. After saving the Prince of Montrovia in The Prince, The Eagle starts with some well-earned downtime for Huntley, but it seems the world of espionage and assassinations have time for no-one.

As I said in my review for The Prince, the Spy Girl series is a cross between James Bond, Spy Kids and Nancy Drew. Huntley Von Allister being the orphan of spies who was subsequently placed in a Spy Academy as a child for protection and to hopefully emulate the success of her parents. Now trained and having already successfully completed her first mission, mission number two awaits.

After the assassination of the American President there is only one assassin who could have pulled off such a feat, an assassin that was presumed dead years ago. The assassination of the President is the first of a few hits and now Huntley and Ari need to thwart the subsequent attempts and take the killer out. This is a mission that has failure written all over it and now Huntley must put her life on the line once again.

Huntley’s back ground is still not really known but Jillian Dodd does give us a few more snippets of information perfectly building the suspense and intrigue with regards to how Huntley finds herself in the situation she is now in.

“So when were alone, we felt like a fairytale?”
“In most fairytales, the girl doesn’t lie to the Prince.”

A Jillian Dodd book would not be complete without man candy and The Prince of Montrovia and Daniel are still the love interests vying to get Huntley’s attention. The Prince is still my front runner but Huntley is still of the opinion not to get emotionally involved, the first rule of being a spy. Daniel I still don’t trust and I am sure that there is something sneaky going on behind the scenes with him.

“You have to come back, Lee… Because I think I love you.”

Fashion, humour, wit and fantastic banter are prevalent throughout and really cement this as a YA read. Huntley is a lot more serious and focused in this book rather than acclimatising to wealth and social occasions so you can already see her growth. For a spy though she is inherently compassionate and it is this trait that could cause her the most problems. Huntley really needs to dig deep in her gut because it is her instincts as to who to trust that will be her biggest weapon. There are so many “dodgy” characters in this book, Jillian Dodd is spinning the webs and I cannot wait to see who gets caught.

Bring on mission 3!!!


“No, Huntley, I did not.” He sighs. “Even though I was upset to learn the truth about you, I’m certainly not over you. And I could never offer you up to another man.” 

A quick glance over the railing confirms that Daniel is still training in the pool a deck below. Knowing I won’t be overheard, I say, “I’m sorry, Lorenzo. If I weren’t who I am, if I didn’t have to do this—” 

“Things would be different,” he says, finishing my sentence. “I know. I’m a King and you’re—you. It would never work.” 


“But what if it could?” he asks. 

“The only way it could is if one of us were willing to quit.” 

“I can’t quit my country.” 

“So you want me to quit?” 

“I’m not sure. I have so many unanswered questions.” 

“What were you told about me?” 

“Very little. The man who called simply stated that your training and cover had taken years to put into place. He then requested I not tell a soul, for your personal safety.” 

“Lorenzo, it’s one thing to know what I do. It’s another thing to have witnessed it.” 

“While I will admit your talents are slightly unusual, it doesn’t make them any less spectacular.” 

“You saw me kill people. I’m good at it.” 

“And thank goodness that you are, or I’d be dead.” 

“And I’m a liar.” 

“I watched you work the crowd to perfection at both the Queen’s Garden Party and Her Majesty’s Royal Ball. Where I come from, we call that being diplomatic.” 

I laugh out loud. “You almost make me feel like a normal girl.” 

“Will you tell me how you ended up in this profession at such a young age?” 

“Can I be honest with you?” 

“Of course.” 

“I’m not doing this for my country.” 

“Good, then it will be easier to convince you to live in mine.”


Haven’t read this series yet? 

About the Author:

jillian bio.jpg

Jillian is a USA TODAY bestselling author. She writes fun romances with characters her readers fall in love with, from the boy next door in the That Boy trilogy to the daughter of a famous actress in The Keatyn Chronicles series. 

She's married to her college sweetheart, has two adult children, two Labs named Cali and Camber, and lives in a small Florida beach town. When she's not working, she likes to decorate, paint, doodle, shop for shoes, watch football, and go to the beach. 




Win a Kate Spade handbag & signed paperbacks of the Spy Girl Series. 

No comments:

Post a Comment